Gloucester Folk Museum
This large sixteenth century timber-framed building was originally built as a clothier's house and workshop.
The Folk Museum (one of the earliest in the country) is home to a wonderfully eclectic mix of artefacts relating to the City and County's people and history.
It houses many fascinating displays including a dairy, shoemaker's and carpenter's workshops, an ironmonger's shop and a very popular Victorian schoolroom. There is also a pin making workshop commemorating an important industry in the city during the eighteenth century.
The timber South Gates
The timber latticework structure is all that remains of the South Gate of Gloucester. The walls around the city were demolished on the orders of King Charles II for its support of the Parliamentarian cause during the English Civil War. Remnants of the Roman and Medieval walls can still be seen below ground at the City museum in Brunswick Road, the East Gate, and in the furniture shop at the junction of Southgate street and Parliament Street.
On the first floor can be seen three panels of wall paintings. These are of late sixteenth century date and are typical of the renaissance type which came to England from Germany and the Low countries.
Bishop Hooper's Stake
This charred timber stake was discovered in the nineteenth century on the site of the Bishop's execution by fire in St Mary's Square in 1555.
99 – 103 Westgate Street
Telephone: 01452 396868
No Smoking Attraction
Facilities for Visually Impaired Visitors - Hands on display
Guide Dogs Permitted
Groups Accepted - Essential to prebook.Advance booking advised for all visits - essential for Victorian Class room and other organised sessions or talks.
Max group size -
Min group size - 12
Educational Visits Accepted
Guided Tours Available for Groups